1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

My stressed partner

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by thegeologist, Sep 3, 2015.

1. thegeologist

thegeologist Occasional commenter

Hello all,

My partner who has just started her NQT year has succumbed to the demands and stress of the job. She may be only a few days into her work but she is a wreck with stress. She is currently undertaking a temporary contract, however she can't cope.

As a teacher myself who has suffered badly with stress my advice to her was to get out if she felt that way. She is only 22 and believe that leaving earlier rather than later is better. She has seen the state I got into in my last post and I don't want her to go through what I have gone through.

Would she be able to resign on the grounds of stress?

2. jago123

jago123 Established commenter

She would be able to resign, but cannot be released until December 31st. The deadline for autumn resignations is October 31.

It is not one rule for one, one rule for another I'm afraid..

You do state she is on temporary contract, when does that expire?

3. scienceteachasghost

scienceteachasghost Lead commenter

Maybe a tad controversially, I would advise your partner to stick at it for now and be as loving and caring and helpful to her as you can during this period, cook the meals etc.

The reason I say this is because I started one of my three main teaching jobs in a similar vein (and actually went off ill 2 days in the first week through sheer sleep deprivation!) but bit the bullet and although it was hard, actually started to enjoy it to some extent by November.