1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

My role as a volunteer

Discussion in 'Teaching assistants' started by Beeldi, Oct 5, 2018.

1. Beeldi

Beeldi New commenter

Hi, So sorry that this is very long. I started volunteering at a primary school, in year 2, 3 weeks ago. I have very little experience in this role but would like to become a teaching assistant and have started the level 2 Cache course at my local college, The class is rather large with 2 qualified teachers who split the class between them for most lessons. I haven't had much communication with either teacher and I feel like a spare part, or even invisible, a lot of the time. When the classes split, occasionally one of the teachers will ask me to stay with their group but more often than not nothing is said to me and I make the decision based on which group I feel will benefit from my help the most. There are 2 things that are troubling me at the moment. One is my role and what I as a volunteer can and cannot do. The other is my feeling that the class, possibly much of the school, is disorganised and lacking in communication.
    There are 2 boys in the class who have 1:1 TAs and there are another 4 boys who are showing signs of behavioural/autistic tendencies.