1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

My FE Experience

Discussion in 'Further Education' started by zakbrown1900, Feb 15, 2011.

1. I can remember when I studied for a PGCE and I was taught
    about the values of reflection so I have decided write this post about my experience
    of FE lecturing.

When I studied for a degree I had a simple aim of earning
    enough money to get by. Perhaps have a
    mortgage on a small terraced house and be able to pay the bills. When I heard about being able to study for a
    PGCE in further education, have course fees paid and receive a small bursary I
    thought this was the answer to my dreams.
    I could one day be a lecturer and hopefully earn a reasonable wage. I tried really hard on my degree and did
    exceptionally well. I tried equally hard
    on the PGCE and passed with flying colours.
    Whilst on placement for the PGCE I met many lecturers that were paid on
    an hourly basis and they all told me their horror stories of earning less than
    the minimum wage, working 50+ hours per week for many years before being
    employed full time. I felt for them but
    thought this not happen to me – it did.

When I graduated from the PGCE there were no jobs where I
    lived so I spent a year supply teaching in schools. I always thought that if I did this at least
    there will be something to fall back onto if times are hard again. As you can imagine it was incredibly tough
    and something I hope I will never experience again. I then worked in a college for a couple of
    years and was paid by the hour. I worked
    in the college for four days per week but spent the other two to three days
    preparing for lessons and marking. No