1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

My baby died and now I think Ill be sacked help!

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by dancin, Dec 1, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dancin

dancin New commenter

In brief....

• I am a SEN teacher teaching a different age group to what I'm used to and have new staff
    • 2 weeks in 2 of my TAs made allegation of me using unreasonable force on a pupil (its exaggerated grossly I moved a child by the arm to keep them safe from others)
    • I was pregnant at the time (around 12 weeks)
    • No support offered despite pregnancy just an occupational health referral that came little too late
    • I had to carry on working with TAs and was not able to discuss it, meaning relationships were strained and I didn't know who I could trust
    • I lost my baby after the 'safe period' and I am still off work grieving
    • Have decided to have my union rep represent me at the disciplinary. Now I've read the documentation it is awful reading and such a personal attack. Lots of negative comments about me and both TAs swear I used excessive force which is absolute rubbish. I don't have any staff who remember seeing the incident but as it happened outside the classroom there were plenty of staff around so I have several staff to vouch that they didn't see anything untoward and to give character statements to counteract the negative comment being made
    • Worst case scenario I lose my job, best-nothing.
    • I've just lost my baby can I really be sacked too?

2. sabrinakat

sabrinakat Star commenter