1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Music Medals in KS3

Discussion in 'Music' started by qu1annie, Aug 18, 2011.

1. I'm thinking about trialling a new scheme of work with year 7 using the Associated Board Music Medals - essentially teaching them to play the keyboard in a similar way to the wider opps (have done some observation and seen teaching materials from my local music service) and then offering them the opportunity to enter for the most appropriate medal in the summer term - they would probably have to attend an after-school club as well, but I think that most of the students who will be complete beginners could achieve copper. Has anyone done this with secondary? I'm in a school of very few instrumentalists and money is tight so I've got an eye on my future GCSE intake. I've got quite a few of the books and I'm about to start creating and developing resources. (I'm aware that I may have some pianists/students who read music etc. and will differentiate accordingly.)
    I did a quick search on here and there are several threads saying people were thinking about it, but I would be really interested to hear from anyone who has actually tried it and how successful it was.

2. I teach in a prep school so not KS3 but all pupils learn the recorder and do music medals. My better Y3s have done Copper by the end of the year. They love it!
    The instrumental teachers also do music medals instead of or as well as AB or TG exams and pupils (and their parents) choose what they do.