1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Music in EYFS

Discussion in 'Music' started by princesslemons, Sep 14, 2011.

1. Hi everyone,
    I'm a full time music teacher in a primary school, covering PPA for other teachers. I have an hour lesson all classes in years 1-6, and 45 minutes with Nursery and Reception. I've been doing it for almost two years, and I'm still finding it really tough to come up with ideas for EYFS that will last a full 45 minutes! Once they are a little bit more capable, it is very easy for me to plan, but when they are really little it's difficult to even hole their attention for that time! Does anyone have any ideas or suggestions of things they have done?
    Thanks in advance!

2. sparklepig2002

sparklepig2002 Star commenter

lots of short activities! I do an opening welcome song, then some sort of action warm up, I then do a birthday song for any birthday children. Then we talk about the main theme of the lesson, learn a song, add insturments and also try and include listening/moving to some music. 45 mins is a long time - 30mins is better - can you reduce the teaching time and spend the last part doing a story?

3. jubilada

jubilada New commenter

I agree with what sparklepig suggests. I had to do 50 min lessons which was really too long fro the little ones. I too used to read a story at the end of the lesson - seems the teachers getting their 50 minute slot was more important than how they received their music education.... I did lots of movement/dance type activitie. Maybe you already know of these resources but I liked Lets go Zudio (AC Black), the NYCOS singing games for early years are brilliant for this stage, also 3 Tapping Teddies for story based music activities.