1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Multiplying by 10,100,100 with decimal points

Discussion in 'Mathematics' started by Ms_Saba, Jan 19, 2012.

1. Hi,

I'm a trainee and have been observing my Year 5 maths (set B) class struggling with doing:

6.7 x 10,
    568 /100

etc.

We are not allowed to move the decimal point, although that is how I was taught many years ago. The kids have had numerous lessons on it and don't get it. The teacher has asked me to bring a fresh approach to it.
    I have seen the slider cards but am hoping to get some more resources from you pros out there.

I would love to know practical methods you have used to get this concept through.

Cheers

S

2. Hi,

I'm a trainee and have been observing my Year 5 maths (set B) class struggling with doing:

6.7 x 10,
    568 /100

etc.

We are not allowed to move the decimal point, although that is how I was taught many years ago. The kids have had numerous lessons on it and don't get it. The teacher has asked me to bring a fresh approach to it.
    I have seen the slider cards but am hoping to get some more resources from you pros out there.

I would love to know practical methods you have used to get this concept through.

Cheers

S

3. And there lies the problem. You were taught that way and can do it.
    They were taught a different way and can't.
    I'd move the point when noone is looking.

4. bombaysapphire

bombaysapphire Star commenter

I use the slider cards.
    Laminate some pieces of squared paper and cut lengthways into 4 long strips. Take a piece of card for each student. Cut a pair of slits close to the middle, width approx 1cm.