1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

MSc Project - staff governors in London/nearby

Discussion in 'Governors' started by IndigoandViolet, Mar 1, 2018.

1. IndigoandViolet

IndigoandViolet New commenter

Hello all,

I'm a former teacher who is now pursuing an MSc in Social Policy. As part of my course I am completing a small qualitative research project, interviewing current/former staff governors about their experience as a governor. For the sake of the research, this could be a classic Governing Body or an academy LGB and any phase.

It's a methods course and one of the requirements is that interviews must be conducted face to face so I'm looking for staff governors in London or within train travel from there (I'm north London so up into Hertfordshire/Bedfordshire is very easy, heading south is possible but harder) who would be willing to do an interview of about 40 minutes in March or early April this year. I'll come to you and the interviews could be in school, at home or somewhere else like a cafe.

I'm not allowed to offer incentives but I do happen to bake quite a lot of cake that might get accidentally brought along. If anyone is interested I'm happy to give more details - please reply below or PM me.

Many thanks,
    I&V.

2. harsh-but-fair

harsh-but-fair Star commenter

Just as a matter of interest, why only Staff Governors?

3. Rott Weiler

Rott Weiler Star commenter Forum guide

I'm an experienced governor but not a staff governor. Sounds a potentially interesting project, Ive often noticed that some staff governors do not se themselves as governors, as part of the collective decision-making, but more there just to promote staff views.