1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Moving up the pay scale after only working 1 term?

Discussion in 'Pay and conditions' started by Ellie1293, Aug 2, 2019.

1. Ellie1293

Ellie1293 New commenter

Hi all,
    I was a class teacher in Scotland for Term 1 of the 18/19 year before leaving at Christmas to go travelling. I will be back in the UK soon and will be searching for teacher jobs in England in the new school year.
    When in Scotland, I was earning at level 2 on the pay scale, equivalent to M3 in England. Should I expect to still be working at M3 when I begin teaching again, as I didn't complete a full year at this level, or does the term I completed entitle me to move up to M4?
    I completely understand if I will still be at M3, just a little annoying that it will mean a pay decrease for me moving from Scotland back to the English scales!
    Thanks! :)

2. cheesypop

cheesypop Senior commenter

There is no pay portability at all. Previous experience and previous pay scales are no longer a guarantee of equivalent pay, even if you haven’t had a break.
    You may well find that schools want to put you on M1. You don’t have to accept it but they don’t have to offer anything else.
    You need to accept that they may also see the fact that you worked for a term and then went travelling as a bit flaky. I’d have a good explanation of why you are now committed to a school and an area when you complete an application and at interview as generally schools like their staffing to remain as stable as possible during the school year.
    Sorry that isn’t more positive but it’s the way it is. You’ve only worked a term a year ago; you are not really offering any more than an NQT would.