1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Moving UK pension

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by happygreenfrog, Mar 10, 2012.

1. happygreenfrog

happygreenfrog Occasional commenter

In a former life I worked in the pensions industry, doing the unseen type of calcualtions needed to work out the value of your pension funds, rather than at the higher profile selling end.
    As a member of a scheme you may annually request a quote of your prospective pension benefits (those to be given at retirement) AND the present value of those benefits, that you could take as a transfer sum elsewhere.
    Request those statements and then forward them to a prospective new provider. They will provide a quote on what that transfer payment will buy in their scheme. You then simply compare the two quotes.

2. nemo.

nemo. Occasional commenter

It is part of the mythology of pension saving that you need a special scheme! Apart from some tax considerations - and actually for base rate taxpayers in the UK the tax advantages re really in effect nil and are the opportunity cost can easily be negative (you get taxed on exit and opportunity cost = cost of being stuck with an annuity)

Just use dirt cheap tracker funds lime hsbc - I pay 0.25% a year fees all included. "managed" funds are a waste of time and statistically you beat them using a fund - I spent 10 years in finance including fund management and believe me the whole industry is one big consumer fraud.

3. johnio

johnio New commenter

Hi Cindy

I posted on such an issue a few weeks ago - I'll re-post here: