1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Moving to Thailand with my family

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by lucymweatherall, Mar 17, 2019.

1. lucymweatherall

lucymweatherall New commenter

Good afternoon!

In the summer I am moving to Thailand with my partner and our 8-year old son. Neither of us have jobs yet but we are looking. He's in IT and I am a fully qualified English teacher.

When we get over to Thailand, if I don't have a job yet, I was thinking about funding myself with TEFL jobs.
    I was wondering how easy (or difficult) it is to get TEFL jobs in an almost work-as-you-go fashion. Even just for the first 6-8 weeks when we'll be travelling around a bit.

Any advice for this; moving across the world; Thailand tips; or anything would be massively appreciated!

Thank you :)

2. shaneggpierce

shaneggpierce New commenter

I would suggest you to not. It was one the worst decision of my life and now i am regretting.

Regards
    Shane

3. Wotton

Wotton Lead commenter

4. amysdad

amysdad Established commenter

If you're a fully qualified English teacher, then rather than looking at TEFL why not contact some of the schools and offer yourself as a cover teacher? The pay would be better, the kids probably too, and it would give you a foot in the door of the school if a full-time teaching job does come up.

5. ToK-tastic

ToK-tastic New commenter