1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Moving to teach in SydneyAustralia

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by rorirving, Mar 1, 2011.

1. Hi

I am looking to move to Sydney as son as possible with my partner. I am a Secondary PE teacher and I want to do this over in OZ but i am struggling as to where to look for vacancies or agencies which help with this?
    Is it best to have a job before moving or to look once over there?
    Any help with this would be fab!!

Thanks!!!

2. NSW has centralised staffing, You need to go to https://www.det.nsw.edu.au/about-us/careers-centre/school-careers/teaching and apply for the rounds, this is done in June or July starting work in January. Good luck getting work in Sydney, unless you are happy to work anywhere including the exceptionally rough schools. Other option apply in the rounds with the intention of getting casual relief. This will allow you to decide which schools you like and they may then offer you contracts.
    Go to http://www.ceosyd.catholic.edu.au/Pages/Home.aspx for Catholic schools.
    The Sydney Morning Herald also advertises positions vacant. Seek is a waste of time and avoid agencies other. You could try teachers on net.
    Any work in NSW will require you to register with NSWIT http://www.nswteachers.nsw.edu.au/ which is the equilant of the GTCE or GTCS.