1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Moving to Singapore - Help?

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by fayesutcliffe, Aug 31, 2019.

1. fayesutcliffe

fayesutcliffe New commenter

I have been teaching Spanish up to a level for 5 years. We recently honeymooned in Singapore and both my partner and I fell in love with the place. We've spoken about moving abroad before but the Middle East didn't appeal. Singapore seems to have the best of everything and the fact English is their first language is a huge bonus as my partner doesn't speak any other languages and this has always been the biggest barrier - for him - preventing us from making the jump.

I've had a look at a few different teaching job websites, but I was hoping someone would be able to shed some light on the perks of choosing Singapore, particularly in relation to accommodation. My partner doesn't teach, so wouldn't necessarily find work right away, and it's important to have some sort of security / make sure it's feasible for him to get a job once we're out there. Having accommodation and allowances would be a huge bonus. - If you have experience in Singapore, could you let me know what the typical "perks" look like.

Also, do you love it? how has your experience been? Would you recommend the jump and can you give any practical advice to ease the transition?

Thank you so much,
    Faye

2. migratingbird

migratingbird Occasional commenter