1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Moving to nursery

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by jaimiwynn, Jun 28, 2011.

1. Hi,
    I am still a relatively new teacher and I have taught year 1 for the past two years.
    Next year, I moving to be the nursery teacher, which I am a bit concerned about as I know very little about nursery practice and not really sure where to start. Has anyone got any suggesstions of where to start learning about nursery practice - reading etc.
    Thank you x

2. I think the thought of teaching in Nursery put the heebee jeebee's on many teachers!! I think teacher's are either afraid that they'll be stuck in there forever or that they won't know where to start.
    I moved to Nursery this year after not teaching Nursery since my NQT year (a long long time ago!) I'd been in Reception for a long time and so was familiar with EYFS (just think APP for EVERYTHING!). But I moved schools and was put in the nursery.
    One of the first things I did to familiarise myself with the curriculum was to look at the development matters. I got these in easy form by downloading them from the resources section on here. I had a look at existing planning folders and double checked coverage of development matters. I tried to get an idea of how planning worked, how children's interests were planned for, etc, etc.
    The next big help was the transfer day when the new nursery children spent an hour in the nursery. I'd forgotten quite how tiring it was! I used to get all my work done in the morning and hear readers in the afternoon in my Reception class. In Nursery, you have to use the same amount of energy morning and afternoon. It's exhausting (but you kind of get used to it - eventually)