1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Moving to Malaysia

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by TeachingBusiness, Apr 27, 2019.

1. TeachingBusiness

TeachingBusiness New commenter

Hi all. About to embark on our first ever adventure abroad with my non teaching wife and our two boys. Heading off to Malaysia near KL. Contract seems good but what things should we be aware of. How have other people found the move? Any regrets about leaving the UK?

2. rosiecg

rosiecg Occasional commenter

I'm in my third year in KL, feel free to pm if you have any specific questions. Would love to hear which school you'll be at!

3. topquark

topquark New commenter

Congratulations. KL is fantastic for kids. Not sure about their age range. All the sports including rugby. Unbelievable and cheap food options, surprisingly child friendly. Invest in a cheap second hand car and visit riverside/lakeside/mountainside restaurants. Swim in a different waterfall every weekend,
    Genting Highlands, Crab Island, Legoland, Lake Gardens, KLCC park, rain forest Negara, Cameron Highlands, Fraser's hill, elephant sanctuary and not to forget a mock French town.

Very cheap childcare and domestic help. Lots of TA vacancies in IS. Invite the grandparents for months on end to get away from the UK winter. What's not to like?

4. nemo.

nemo. Occasional commenter

Upsides: KL is Asia lite. English is widely spoken, food is good, many expats (but a lot less these days as oil and gas dived) and a good travel hub.