1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Moving into a leadership role.

Discussion in 'Senior Leadership Team' started by superewok, Mar 15, 2016.

1. superewok

superewok New commenter

Hi all,

I have posted this in Career Clinic too so apologies of you see this more than once. Just after some thoughts or advice about my situation. Thanks in advance.

I have seven years teaching experience (4 as a core subject leader) in a range of schools - RI to Outstanding, in Years 4 - 6. My most recent position, which I held for two years, was as Maths Leader and Year 6 Team Leader at a two form entry school. My headteacher was superb - allowing me to implement new ideas in my core subject, lead initiatives across the school, develop teaching assistants CPD and develop personally and professionally. I was able to attend management courses as well as core subject courses. I was also responsible for developing a new curriculum for Year 6 and more specifically developing opportunities for more able learners. I feel like I have strong middle leader experience and have achieved a great deal in terms of data/children's standards in the school, etc.