1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Moving House- are you entitled to a day-out-of school?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by Blondie85, Apr 14, 2009.

1. Hi there, not sure if this is the right forum to be asking this on but....
    Im in my 2nd year of teaching and have just bought my first house, I read in a teacher's magazine that you are entitiled to a day out of school to move in and get yourself organised but am obviously a bit reluctant to do this without checking if I am actually 'allowed'.
    Any advice would be really appreciated xxx

2. minnieminx

minnieminx New commenter

I have had a day off both the times I've moved.
    You also don't have to take it on the actual moving day. You could, say, have the Friday off and move on the Saturday. Or move on the Saturday and have the Monday off.
    Other, cleverer, people will be able to tell you if it is LA based or countrywide though.

3. Hi,
    The best people to ask if you are 'entitled' would be your Union, I would think.
    I personally would move house in the holidays, and therefore not ask for time off. It depends how understanding your Head is. I've never known anyone have time off for this, it's more likely they would have time off for funerals and interviews etc.

4. Hi,
    The best people to ask if you are 'entitled' would be your Union, I would think.
    I personally would move house in the holidays, and therefore not ask for time off. It depends how understanding your Head is. I've never known anyone have time off for this, it's more likely they would have time off for funerals and interviews etc.

5. RJR_38

RJR_38 New commenter