1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Moving from teaching to managing a pre school..?

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by lizzyr, Sep 2, 2011.

1. lizzyr

lizzyr New commenter

I currently teach 2.5 days a week in a small school, teaching Reception, Year 1 and Year 2 in a mixed class. I have gone part time since having my daughter (who is 2). I have 10 years teaching experience, and according to OFSTED my teaching, and leadership of EYFS is outstanding (what do they know though eh?). But, the workload at my school has always been excessive, we have very few staff, so middle management falls to the 2 teaching staff, I manage 6 subjects plus EYFS, have only part time TAs, no caretaker etc etc. I have had no real PPA time this year (yes yes I know this is illegal, but just the way it is with such a small staff) So even though I am now part time, I still work 8 am - 6pm on my teaching days, plus loads of planning, management stuff out of these times. It has really had a negative impact on my family life, and I hate the time it is taking away from me thinking about and looking after my son.
    ANYWAY...I have been presented with the possible opportunity of a job managing a small pre-school, 25 hours a week. It really appeals, as I am finding the lack of contact and control quite difficult where I am! I like the idea of being in each day in contact with the kids, but still doing part time hours. My daughter can attend the setting, which is a real bonus for me too. HOWEVER I am worried whether I will be jumping out of the frying pan into the fire, as I have no idea whether the planning, assessment, and general management of the setting will be just as bad as where I am, but for much (much) less pay.