1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Moving from teaching to HLTA.. any tips?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by justpayingattention, Jul 4, 2019.

1. justpayingattention

justpayingattention New commenter

Hi!

I'm going to be moving schools to be HLTA (mostly doing PPA cover and interventions I think?), having taught Year 4 this year.

Bit of background... I completed my first 2 terms of NQT at previous school in 2016/17, but the stress of it all had a serious impact on my mental and physical health.. School were brilliant and supportive, and I worked as a TA for the remainder of that year and all of last academic year while I got better and loved every second of it! Ended up covering my CT on Fridays with the class I was in anyway as she only worked 4 days as a way of easing me back into things and started at my current school in September.

Managed to complete NQT in April but found that over the course of the year stress was building up and after going to doctor's for anxiety the first week of Summer 2 decided to go to working mornings only (thankfully I have another supportive head!) I decided that having had a couple of gos at teaching that it's just not right/healthy for me..