1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Moving from teaching to admin...or not!

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by Bevridge, Dec 9, 2019.

1. Bevridge

Bevridge New commenter

Hi all,

I want to make the move out of teaching into an admin job. I am currently a KS3/4 Science teacher with over 25 years' experience.

I fully understand that I will need to take a pay reduction and that's fine. However I'm not even getting in the door for an interview for jobs I could in all non-modesty do very easily, and very well. Perhaps I'm overqualified and too experienced but I have applied for both junior and more senior administration jobs and barely getting rejection letters, never mind invites to interviews. I've tried a mix of civil service and private sector.

So my question is - what is the magic incantation to write on my cover letter or CV to show that a teacher is actually ideal in a job that requires organisational and IT skills?

Thanks in advance

Bev

(PS Side question is, what is scaring them off?)

MathMan1 likes this.
  2. ViolaClef

ViolaClef Lead commenter

It may be one of those catch 22 situations where they feel they want to see that you have experience being e.g. a PA etc. - but how do you get experience if no-one will give you the opportunity?
    Do you know any PAs or administrators whom you could ask this question? They are probably in the best position to give you good answers and discuss with you how an application/cv for such a post should look, and what skills and experience to highlight

3. Corvuscorax

Corvuscorax Star commenter

Have you tried a tempting agency first?

MathMan1 likes this.
  4. Piranha

Piranha Star commenter