1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Moving from Teacher to inclusion support worker - advice please!

Discussion in 'Special educational needs' started by sali_mali82, Sep 16, 2015.

1. Hello!

I have wanted to have a shift in my career for while but need some advice. I have been a drama teacher and head of drama for 10 years and have often wondered about moving into SEN but lack direct experience, despite that of a classroom teacher requires.

A job has come up as 'Inclusion support worker' which I think might be a way in. It is a sigificant reduction salary wise and is a part-time post (which suits me currently anyway due to child-care). I wonder if this is a good move as I recognise I cannot jump into a higher SEN position without changing my career and this means working at a lower paid position that I have been.

Anyone able to advise if role of 'inclusion support worker' might give me scope to progress in my career, with a focus on SEN away from 10 years as classroom teacher (drama secondary).

Also the advert states term-time only which rings alarm bells as I guess this means no pay in the holidays which would be a real struggle actually (on top of the reduction to salary) I wonder if it might be reasonable, if I made it to interview, to negotiate having this a full contract not term time only??

Any wise people out there in this area.

Many thanks :)

2. minnie me

minnie me Star commenter