1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Moving from state to private

Discussion in 'Independent' started by Snoopy.Dog, Aug 21, 2020.

1. Snoopy.Dog

Snoopy.Dog New commenter

I have teaching in the state sector for over 20 years. Been HOD (science), HOY, DH but am growing increasingly frustrated particularly when the school I'm working at is RI and it does not seem to want to do any "enrichment". I went to public school (Bristol Grammar) and had a world of opportunity -fencing, theatre etc. I am an outstanding physics teacher -but if, for example, I wanted to set up a Fencing Club -no funding. A book club -it's a "under the English department" remit. No clubs run after school. My behaviour management is second to none -but my CV it is getting dry.

I'm coming up for 45 and going to relocate in the next 3-5 years back to the Bristol area and will be looking for a post in the indep school. I know they are not all the same but I want to do a 10 years of "throwing my life and soul into a school" before I look at retiring. I have young children right now -but they will be 11 plus so I can afford to give my indep school more of me or saturday school.

But if I look at my CV -courses on in the last 3 years -nothing, clubs run -nothing although I am going to run a science club after we go back to school. If I want to do an astronomy club for example -I even got people from a local club willing to come in to run one and the HT was like -no, the students have buses home and if we can't provide transport we can't run it. Literally nothing -and this is similiar to the last 3 RI schools I have been in.