1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Moving from state to independent

Discussion in 'Independent' started by lottielan, Apr 23, 2012.

1. I am an experienced state school teacher, feeling exhausted and under pressure. i have seen a job in an independent school and am considering going for it.
    My worry is that there would be no way back. I feel I need a break and from the pressure but my heart is in state education.
    Has anyone else made this move... or moved back?

2. hoglett

hoglett New commenter

Go for it but just because it's independent doesn't mean less pressure.

3. I wouldn't worry about the "going back" part. You are experienced in the state sector and if you did wish to go back then you have the evidence that you can cope in the state sector.
    As to pressures (having worked in both) - it is different. In my opinion (and only my opinion) the staff body work harder to provide things that the maintained sector have extra staff for. The extra curricular, parents evenings, reports etc. can be much more demanding but there are fewer paper tasks for the sake of ticking boxes (if you know what I mean) in independent.
    Try - you never know what will happen. May I suggest you arrange a visit - that way you may get a feel for the place and know if the change is right for you or not. Best of luck.

4. Hello,