1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Moving from Secondary to FE

Discussion in 'Further Education' started by elkemu, Jan 12, 2012.

1. I am in my third year of teaching English in an 11-16 school and would like to start applying for jobs at sixth form colleges. Does anyone have any guidelines as to what particular attributes and experience FE colleges will be looking for?
    Also, I would love to hear from sixth form teachers and those who have experience at both key stages to know what, in your opinion, are the advantages or otherwise of making this switch.
    Any views and advice very gratefully received.

2. I made the switch last year and moved from an 11-18 comp to FE and am loving every minute of it. No more dealing with constant behaviour problems and trying to teach students that have no interest in your subject. No more tutor groups and break duties and assemblies and .........and no more telling students to tuck their shirts in!

It is a real pleasure to be teaching students that share your passion for the subject and want to learn, not many of those in most 11-16 schools from my experience.
    Looking at your original question, my college were looking for someone who had recent experience of teaching at A level and this was probably the first point on the person spec for the job. If your teaching in an 11-16 school that might be a problem with lack of recent experience at that level and that would be my biggest concern. In my experience the two main attributes were highly qualified (most lecturers having higher level of qualifications that in schools) and highly experienced, they were certainly not looking for an NQT or someone straight out of college.

Hope this helps!