1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

moving from Private to state

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by wilkinson252, Jan 28, 2011.

1. Hi
    People say all the time that once you teach in a private school it is difficult to get a job in the state schools. I need some advice on how I try and persuade the school I am applying for to even look at my application. I am currently a Reception teacher and have been for six years and I am applying for a Reception teacher job so I do exactly the same job as they would do in a state school. Please give me advice!

2. Hi
    People say all the time that once you teach in a private school it is difficult to get a job in the state schools. I need some advice on how I try and persuade the school I am applying for to even look at my application. I am currently a Reception teacher and have been for six years and I am applying for a Reception teacher job so I do exactly the same job as they would do in a state school. Please give me advice!

3. cinderella1

cinderella1 New commenter

Well I would think that when you fill in your application form and through the application process, that will be all that you need to do, Your doing the same job as you say and if you have the skills the School is looking for then they will employ you.

4. Thanks for your reply. Do you think though that I should add a sentence in to my letter of application about wanting to move from the private sector to the state or not?

5. I would say , pick your school carefully. It can be tricky to get back into maintained