1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Moving from Private Nursery to Primary School?

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by idoia123, Feb 1, 2016.

1. idoia123

idoia123 New commenter

Hi all,

Hope you are well.

I am brand new to this site and have luckily stumbled across this whilst trying to find out more information on skills/qualifications etc needed to become a Teaching Assistance at a Nursery/Primary School.

I have been working as a Team Leader at various Private Nursery’s after being promoted from a Nursery Nurse. I have been working in Private Nursery’s for around 10 years now.

For the last 6 months I have been trying to get the chance of a role with in a Primary School / None Private Nursery, unfortunately with no success.

I have tried, writing to all Primary Schools / None Private Nursery’s, attaching my CV on the off chance they have vacancies available. I have searched the internet and applied for many Jobs around my area but not even getting the chance to Interview.

I believe I have a very good CV for the role of a Teaching Assistance but not sure if I am missing some vital qualifications etc.

Is there anything I can do in order to increase my chances of getting an Interview for a role?

I would appreciate any help and guidance you can offer me.

Thanks in advance.

Idoia. (Below skills etc from CV)

· 2009 -2012: BA Degree Early Years, Open University

· 2007-2009CACHE Advanced NVQ Level 3 in Children’s Care, Learning and Development

· May 2014: Awareness of Child Abuse and Neglect

· Oct 2013: Fire Safety – Early Years

· Jun 2013: Implementing the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework (in-house training)

· Apr 2013: Manual Handling – Early Years