1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Moving from KS3/4 to KS5

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by mbeltran, Sep 26, 2015.

1. mbeltran

mbeltran New commenter

I have been working now for 5 year teaching mostly KS3 and some KS4 (low ability groups). After 5 years controlling behaviour is draining me. I want to challenge myself in a different way, more about what I teach and how I deliver that instead of spend most of my time waiting for students to listen. My training is in Middle schools but I have a PhD in Biology, and recently I took a course of How to teach A level biology for the first time. The only thing is that I did my MSc, BSc and Secondary School abroad, so I did not take A levels. I want to move to teach KS5 could you tell me please:

How easy is to make the move from KS3/4 to KS5?
    I have been observing lesson but it is there any way of gaining experience?

Thanks you for the advice

2. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter

Ok two main questions here . . .

Q1 Not too easy, which is why schools that are 11-6 do not provide an ideal springboard for moving to an 11-18 school.

Q2 The only way to gain experience is to actually teach A-levels. But to do that you must be able to persuade someone that you, with Middle-School training, with lower-ability pupil experience, no experience of having yourself done A-levels, and no experience of teaching A-levels, are a good bet. That you would be able to teach their students successfully. You might find an IB school, but there would be the same problem.

The other point is that Biology is a lot less in demand than Physics or Chemistry . . .