1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Moving from KS2 to EYFS?

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by moonprismpower, Jan 18, 2016.

1. moonprismpower

moonprismpower New commenter

Hello, I'm not sure if this is the correct forum fir this thread so please move it if I'm in the wrong one.

I'm a second year teacher in year 4, where I also did my nqt year. I did a school based pgce (primary 5-11) with placements in year 1, 2 and 4.

An opening has come up in foundation at my school and my headteacher has said to let her know if anyone is interested. I am considering putting myself forward because I would like the opportunity. I am however apprehensive that it is a big jump and I have no EYFS training.

In your experience/opinion, is this too big a move? Will I be able to pick up the EYFS curriculum? Am I mad?

Thank you in advance x

2. moonprismpower

moonprismpower New commenter

Just realised this should be in Career Clinic and don't know how to take it down.

3. Lara mfl 05

Lara mfl 05 Star commenter

You won't be able to 'pick up' EYFS curriculum, but you certainly can learn about it, applying what you know about learning to that age range.

4. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter

Why don't you post this on both the Primary and the Early Years forums? Scroll down to find them.

I'm sure that there you will find people to advise you.

Best wishes

5. inceywincey

inceywincey Occasional commenter

I'm sure you will be fine and it will be good experience for you.