1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Moving from full time to 0.8?

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by cefoster, Jan 17, 2016.

1. cefoster

cefoster New commenter

Hi,

I'm looking for any advice/suggestions anyone could give me regarding a change in my teaching hours from full time to 0.8.

I've been teaching since 2010 and have been at my current school for 2 years as head of food technology. Just like many teachers I love my job but I'm finding the demands of the role, work load (particularly the marking and other admin tasks we're asked to do) and for me the single hour lessons taking their toll. (My previous job involved double lessons for practicals which are definitely better but unfortunately this not a possibility at my current workplace). I understand many other subjects only have single hour lessons but getting a class of 30 in, food prepped/cooked, washed up and out before the next class is very physically demanding. Plus not having a full time technician means that I am also having to clean up after the pupils, put washing on, set up for next practicals all within the same hour of the pupils cooking!