1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Moving from FE to be a Cover Supervisor - Anyone done this?

Discussion in 'Further Education' started by zakbrown1900, Aug 12, 2011.

1. Hello

I have got a BSc, MSc and PGCE in FE and a few
    years teaching experience in colleges on a hourly paid basis. When I
    first completed my PGCE in FE I was a supply teacher in schools for a
    year

As there are no FE jobs where I live I am very
    tempted to go for a cover supervisor post I have seen in the local
    paper. The salary seems reasonable. My thinking is that it might be a
    good way to get recent experience in a school and then move into
    teaching in schools. In addition I have got a young son so it seems
    ideal to get the long holidays.

Has anyone got any experience of changing roles from a lecturer to a cover supervisor? Would you be willing to share your experiences (good sides, bad sides, stress increase/decrease, if you find it enjoyable, etc).

Thanks

2. Hello

I have got a BSc, MSc and PGCE in FE and a few
    years teaching experience in colleges on a hourly paid basis. When I
    first completed my PGCE in FE I was a supply teacher in schools for a
    year

As there are no FE jobs where I live I am very
    tempted to go for a cover supervisor post I have seen in the local
    paper. The salary seems reasonable. My thinking is that it might be a
    good way to get recent experience in a school and then move into
    teaching in schools. In addition I have got a young son so it seems
    ideal to get the long holidays.