1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Moving family to Dubai

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by philiswatson, Jun 28, 2015.

1. Hi all,

I'm a Business teacher with 10 years experience and my wife is a PE teacher who's passed her NQT. We are looking to move sticks to Dubai as we've loved it there both times we've been. We have a 1 and a half year old as well so my main questions are.

1) I know that salaries will vary but I have 10 years experience and currently am a pastoral leader of Upper School in my current job. Will this help me get into a good school or at least help with my salary?

2) Are there many jobs for women PE teachers out there and what will a salary be like for 1 years experience?

3) Do schools offer accommodation for families and if so what are they like? I'd be happy to live in motor city or further out of Dubai if it meant a quiet life in the sunshine.

4) How is it for new families out there? My current friends say it's excellent. Our party days are over (or at least have quietened down) so looking to enjoy life and travel the world during our holidays. Are we expecting to much or can this be possible?

Any advice would be excellent. Thanks

2. pgrass

pgrass New commenter

You can count the number of good schools in Dubai on one hand without using your thumb.

Living in Dubai is very different to visiting. There are only so many times you can go to the mall, the beach or the desert under constant sunshine before you turn crazy.