1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Moving abroad to teach with non-teaching (but PhD holding) partner

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by edmundstavros, Mar 20, 2018.

1. edmundstavros

edmundstavros New commenter

Hello,

I've recently been exploring the possibility of teaching abroad, both for the life experience and with a view to saving some money. I've been teaching in the UK for four years.

My girlfriend will move out as well. She's not a teacher but has (or will have by then) a PhD in English Literature, with experience in teaching seminars at university level and with a higher education teaching qualification. This is for small group seminar teaching so of course doesn't equate to PGCE or similar.

I was just wondering what the opportunities would be for her/ the likelihood of her finding work? She's thinking of getting a TEFL or Celta qualification before we go out, and would hope to find some english language teaching.

We're fairly open to the country we move to - thinking of south east Asia or the Far East, but would be open to international schools in Africa or elsewhere (with the possible exception of the Middle East due to the strict marriage laws). However I imagine some places will be easier for my girlfriend to find a job than others. I know some schools offer jobs to teaching couples but I think I'm right this wouldn't be possible as she doesn't have QTS.

How have other people found moving abroad to teach with a partner who is not a teacher? Is it viable? Are some countries going to be very difficult or impossible?

We're at the early stages of planning this as you can tell, but any advice would be appreciated!

2. tb9605

tb9605 Occasional commenter