1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Move to other career?

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by jdou, Jan 10, 2016.

1. jdou

jdou New commenter

Asking for advice on what to do.

I am a MFL teacher from abroad who started here as a supply teacher. I have been doing supplies for some time, trying to get experience and knowledge of the British curriculum. This is the main feedback that I always get from interviews, we need more experience within the British curriculum.

But at this point, my economy cannot survive to this scheme. Sometimes, one of my agencies has sent me to a school just for 2 hours. Now, I am starting with another agency as a TA for a couple of days per week. But, although I can get some more days per week, half term will arrive and will kill my income again. At the end of the day, the final monthly account, in comparisson, is less than a full time job on a basic wage.

I started to register with job agencies. trying to get work as a waiter. At the moment I am getting something for weekends, but they just tell me that if I want a better income, I need to be available school hours.

Private tutoring was an option, but still not get any students from internet advertisements.

I am not new to teaching. I was a teacher in my country, I have taught lots of students in private tuition, with enormous difficulties, who achieved success despite their challenges. I have worked in some schools with SEN students. And I have prepared students for their (equivalent to) A-levels in my country (Hums and languages).