1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Move from Year 2 to Reception.

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by LCE78, Jul 8, 2016.

1. LCE78

LCE78 New commenter

Hi,
    I am moving to reception in September after spending 5 years in Y2. I have had no experience in EYFS other than covering the odd lesson. I was hoping for any helpful hints and tips on how to survive the year as it is completely different to what I am used to!
    Any resources that you find useful or any bits of reading or websites/blogs I would need to do beforehand ? I have a variety of official documents that I have read but it is still a bit overwhelming with the information overload.
    Thank you for your help!

2. Gemget84

Gemget84 New commenter

Not sure how much I can help. I have recently qualified as an early years practitioner and currently looking for a job. I'm trying to compile resources for different themes so I have them to hand. I'm trying to cover seasons, festivals ,colours, space, animals etc.

Im sure you probably have access to loads of resources anyways which would make gathering all of them easy. Pinterest is great for early years advice and activities.

Where about are you based ? What documents are you working with?

Hope this helps a little

3. 123lalala456

123lalala456 New commenter

I am really interested to read any replies you receive. I wondered how others timetable their reception class; how much teacher input they do per day and how long do children have for continuous provision in comparison?