1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Most Lucrative Teaching Jobs?

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by centrale, Mar 12, 2019.

1. centrale

centrale New commenter

Can you help? Where in the world are the teaching jobs that pay really well? I had thought that the Middle East was the place to be for great salaries but it seems that, for the past few years, maybe not so much. I have 20+ years experience teaching overseas and in UK. I would like my experience to be rewarded financially and not be paid the same amount as someone who has been teaching for five or six years. The money is not the only consideration though. It would have to be somewhere with a decent lifestyle too. I would appreciate your input.

2. 576

576 Established commenter

Why should you be paid more because you're older?
    Won't you be doing the same job as the teachers with 5 or 6 years experience?

lillyxopq, tb9605, ed717 and 2 others like this.
  3. dumbbells66

dumbbells66 Lead commenter

The vast majority of the better, if not all of the better paying schools i know of at least, have a maximum starting point....and thats topped out at 8 years experience.

In the top paying schools it is possible to be taking home $100 000+ as a classroom teacher, plus all the usual benefits......but not as a starting salary at that school.

4. blueskydreaming

blueskydreaming Lead commenter

China can pay well. Not everyone's cup of tea though.

5. gulfgolf

gulfgolf Established commenter

High risk locations tend to pay more.
    Very popular places tend to pay less.
    Supply and demand.