1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Mortgage advice...

Discussion in 'Personal' started by chloejewel, Apr 22, 2012.

1. chloejewel

chloejewel New commenter

Hello everyone. I'm looking for some advice about procedures, legal stuff and paperwork regarding getting a joint mortgage. I'm a complete novice at all of this, so please excuse my clumsy explanations below!
    My boyfriend and I are going to buy a house together. He currently has a mortgage and once his place is sold and the mortgage paid off, he will have about £100,000 left to invest in the new place. I'm currently renting and only have about £3000 in savings, so won't be able to contribute much in way of deposit on the new place. He is working freelance and has an irregular income, which can make paying the mortgage by himself a struggle some months. I'm on UPS1, in a full-time, secure post, so have the stable income he lacks. Buying a place together is ideal for both of us.
    Would it work out best if we use all the profit from the sale of his current place as a deposit? We've been together for nearly 8 years now but if we were to break up, how would the sharing of assets work? Is there an agreement we should sign that protects his £100,000 investment? Would an IFA be the best person to talk to or should we deal directly with his current mortgage provider?
    Thank you for any hints or tips- I'm an excited but confused Jewel at the moment!

2. chloejewel

chloejewel New commenter

Hello everyone. I'm looking for some advice about procedures, legal stuff and paperwork regarding getting a joint mortgage. I'm a complete novice at all of this, so please excuse my clumsy explanations below!