1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Morning routines

Discussion in 'Primary' started by panda67, Aug 30, 2011.

1. Hello! I'm new to Year 1 this year, have been trying so hard to get my head round the transition from reception and the differences between a school day in year 1 and teaching in key stage 2!
    A small part of this I am trying to figure out now is the morning routine, after children have come in and put their book bag away what happens next? Do children read a book on the carpet or is there something else for them to be doing? Trying to think of something simple that could engage them for five minutes whilst we wait for everyone to arrive before the register. Any suggestions very much welcomed!
    Thank you :)

2. minnieminx

minnieminx New commenter

I'm hoping that my year 2 (I'm also new to KS1) will do the same as my year 6 did. Sit quietly and chatter on the carpet, to each other and to me, while everyone else gets sorted. Then we do the register. I really do think having a chance to catch up and chatter quietly is so important, as well as a chance to tell me about lost teeth and baking chocolate cakes with granny and all that.

Bell goes at 8.50 and I let them in then. Should have registers finished and sent off ready to start maths or go to assembly at 9.00.

Maybe I'm being naive.

3. lillipad

lillipad New commenter

My year 2s do exactly what every other year group have done... They come in, hang their bags and coats up, come and sit down and can quietly chat while I deal with any parents / forms / money / saying hello to everyone... Then it's straight into register, then depending on the year group it's straight to phonics or straight into lessons.