1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Morning of the exam - revision session

Discussion in 'Mathematics' started by nuts88, Apr 28, 2011.

1. I am a new teacher and have been asked to produce material for a 3 hour revision lesson on the morning before the afternoon exam. The group are C/D borderline, some entered for Higher and some for the Foundation Edexcel.
    Does anyone know of any "ready-made" lessons online that I could use? With it being quite a mammoth session, I could do with a variety of tasks to keep them entertained!
    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

2. That's a tough one and it seems a bit of a rough deal for the whole thing to fall on one person.

There was a thread on here a little while back on revision with lots of good ideas so you might like to have a look at that.

Something things that I've seen work well (and are quick to prepare) are the following:

Maths relay race where you divide the class into teams, give them a question at a time, they get two chances to get it correct. Having the desks at one end of the room means they do have to dash to collect their next questions. It's basically an exam paper chopped up so you can prepare than in less than twenty minutes. (Before anyone has a go at me, this isn't my usual teaching style but this does work surprisingly well in this context.)