1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

More year 1 than a reception class!

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by CooperSM, Dec 11, 2016.

1. CooperSM

CooperSM New commenter

hi guys,
    It's Sunday night and yet again I'm wide awake, heart rate is up to 103 after being a calm 70 all day and all I can think about is how much I'm dreading tomorrow being Monday again!
    I'm in my second year of teaching and I started a new school in September. It was a last minute interview as I had to relocate and I thought everything would work out fine and it hasn't. I need your help!
    I teach reception but this is how my day goes
    8:45 Kids come in a practise writing their name
    8:55 register
    9-9:25 phonics
    9:25 - 11:10 literacy I give a whole class input then in a carousel of 4 groups children rotate between 20 mins of focus work with me, independent task, choosing in the classroom and choosing outdoors. Then every 20 minutes we rotate the groups
    11:15-11.30 recap then dinner
    12:45 register and maths input
    1-2 maths (same as literacy rotation)
    2-2.30 outdoor time whilst I sit with readers
    2.30-3 re/music/Pshe depending on day

This is every day!
    My head of fs is the nursery teacher who has been teaching in the school for over 20 years and he is coming in the whole day tomorrow to see what I would do for due diligence. He's already told me he has concerns for me although I haven't had a single bad observation.
    However, he keeps picking up on things I'm supposed to mind read. I taught year 2 last year and haven't been eyfs since my first year of uni! He picked up on things in my learning journeys though never told me it needed to be done.