1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Mono garlic...

Discussion in 'Cookery' started by anon3372, Mar 13, 2011.

1. Well, this is what we call it here, having googled, it seems you would call it pearl garlic?
    Anyway, they are single large cloves, rather than lots of cloves within a bulb.
    I have been using this for a few months now and the flavour is much better - is it widely available in the UK and if so, where do I get it? (as will be home over Easter...).
    Looks like this...
    [​IMG]

2. Well, this is what we call it here, having googled, it seems you would call it pearl garlic?
    Anyway, they are single large cloves, rather than lots of cloves within a bulb.
    I have been using this for a few months now and the flavour is much better - is it widely available in the UK and if so, where do I get it? (as will be home over Easter...).
    Looks like this...
    [​IMG]

3. It's easily obtainable at Lidls...well, at least in the East Coast Lidls! That's where I get mine.

4. ah - of course, I hadn't thought of Lidl!

5. henriette

henriette New commenter

I have never seen it and regularly visit both the German supermarkets ... I shall have to go on a special trip now to search for it!!!

6. Oh...maybe I should bring some with me, just in case...[​IMG]

7. PlymouthMaid

PlymouthMaid Occasional commenter

I have never seen that before, how handy.

8. egyptgirl

egyptgirl Senior commenter

We nicknamed it Elephant garlic back in Greece. Love it - thanks for the tip on where to find it, Beth!

9. I first found it in a Greek/Turkish market! (yes, we do have Greek/Turkish markets, believe it or not. Just don't mention Cyprus).