1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

MoE/UAE - not worth it? Info pls!

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by tanjidah1, May 10, 2018.

1. tanjidah1

tanjidah1 New commenter

Hi all,

I'm an English grad doing a TA course at the moment (with the hopes of doing teacher training one day).
    I applied for an English Graduate Teacher position in the UAE with a recruitment agency/MoE. My application is still being screened so it's not urgent but I've been perusing this forum trying to find honest reviews on the experience. I have a bad habit of overthinking and backing out if something's put me off.

Many of you pop up in these MoE interview threads just to say "don't do it" and "it's not worth it, just run" but I haven't really seen many reasons why?

Can anyone who's actually spent time over there doing a teaching position at a public school tell me about their experience?

So far, I've read that accommodation not being included is a no-no.
    Also read that public schools with the MoE are just plain awful to work at because you don't get any support - the position I applied for mentioned 3-month training. Has anybody done this already?

I just need some insight in case I get an interview.

Thanks!

2. Mr_Frosty

Mr_Frosty Occasional commenter

Haven't done it, but found out this week that one of my colleagues husband's work in an MOE school and apparently the free housing is being replaced with a housing allowance. I have no idea how much it is or when it will start but it might be worth considering.