1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Moderator marking in Edexcel GCSE

Discussion in 'Drama and performing arts' started by aoconnor334, Aug 24, 2013.

1. aoconnor334

aoconnor334 New commenter

I am extremely disappointed in the standard of marking this year for units one and two and was wondering what others thought of their moderator marks.

I have been using the same units 1 and 2 examinations for the past four years and have never had my grades dropped. All moderator feedback has been exceptionally good stating that all pupils have the opportunity to access the work and that my marking is, in their opinion, fair and in line with the specification and marking policy.......NOT THIS YEAR THOUGH.

My moderator feedback was exceptionally negative and contradicted what previous examiners have stated regarding assessment and marking and all students grades were dropped. I am incredibly angry and upset, firstly for the pupils and secondly for myself (selfishly, but I can't help taking it personally that I have let the students down)

How have others found the marking this year? Do you think it worthwhile contacting Edexcel to state my issues?

(Sorry if this seems like a moan)

2. SGA

SGA