1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Mixed aged class supply - Help!!

Discussion in 'Primary' started by Moorekl, Feb 2, 2012.

1. I have been booked in to do a morning of supply tomorrow in a mixed reception/year1/year2 class. I have no experience of reception and very little experience of year1. Any ideas for literacy and numeracy would be great!! I need lessons that will cover all abilities as I will have no TA support.

2. greta444

greta444 New commenter

Are they not leaving plans for you.
    No TA, 3year groups? I wouldn't plan anything super duper. Some oral storytelling?

3. I have to take my own planning. This is the first assignment that I'm not looking forward to. I'm just so nervous. About the reception particularly. I've heard they have a lot of free choice activities. Does that mean I have to plan lots of activities?

4. greta444

greta444 New commenter

Nope, there will be toys and activities in the classroom. They can choose from them.

5. I thought about reading the gruffalo and doing some differentiated activities around that. Any ideas for numeracy? I normally teach year 5 and although I have had some experience of year 1 I have never taught numeracy.

6. Literacy: Read or show a short story to them, then have groups (mixed ability) act it/part of it/freeze frame. If there is a class/school camera and school policy allows it, take photos to leave for the teacher to print out and stick in books as part of assessment/evidence of work.