1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Miscue analysis

Discussion in 'Primary' started by thedancingqueen, Jan 15, 2011.

1. Can anyone tell me how miscue analysis works please as a way to assess reading? I know very little about it. Is it a formative or a summative assessment method and is it effective?
    If anyone can provide any links to websites too so that I can read up on it, I'd be really grateful. How else can reading be assessed?
    I'm a trainee in my first year of uni so this is all very new to me.

2. Msz

Msz Established commenter

3. Msz,
    I'm curious. Do you think that miscue analysis serves any useful purpose in teaching reading?

4. Msz

It isn't something I would routinely use in my teaching or assessing. I suppose the KS1 NC reading task uses miscue to assess but I wouldn't use it otherwise

5. Is it useful?

6. Msz

Not in the slightest

7. This is an interesting question!

Miscue analysis is associated with a more whole language or mixed methods approach to teaching reading.
    It generally assumes that we need to identify which reading strategies children 'read' the words and what their difficulties may be.
    The thing is, we can all undertake a miscue analysis and make identifical notes of how any child 'reads' the book.
    But following that, dependent upon our 'understanding' of reading instruction, we would view the results entirely differently.