1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Minibus driving - anxious

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by Progressnerd, Jan 27, 2019.

1. Progressnerd

Progressnerd Occasional commenter

Hi

I started at a new school earlier this month and the new staff were asked if they'd be trained up on the school minibus so they could offer trips etc for the kids.

I'm a really anxious driver at times and especially with new vehicles/situations it takes me ages to get comfortable and confident.

But I didn't want to say no when I've just started to I said yes. I spent an hour with a trained driver last week and found it really streasful - it didn't feel comfortable for me and I was really nervous.

I'm now anxious about this - I don't know how often I'll be asked to actually drive or when but I don't think I'd feel comfortable taking pupils on a trip.

Do I tell the management team how I feel? I don't want them to think I'm not willing to go the extra mile.

2. grumpydogwoman

grumpydogwoman Star commenter

I wouldn't want you driving my grandkids. Not feeling the way you do.

Please say no. I think it's better for everyone. You need 2 adults. You can do the behaviour management. Not everyone is cut out for it. It's OK.

3. mothorchid

mothorchid Star commenter

I have to agree - you may well not be a safe driver of a minibus. Tell the SLT you found the training very stressful and that you do not feel it would be wise for you to drive the minibus. No-one wants a crash...