1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Mid Term Planning: Space

Discussion in 'Primary' started by siobhanokeefe, Feb 20, 2011.

1. Hello

I am a trainee teacher, completing an assignment on cross-curricular planning. I am really struggling with this task.

We are required to:

Plan, design and evaluate a teaching resource (unit of work) that promotes a worthwhile and challenging cross-curricular study.

In which we focus on one core subject and two foundation subject

I am considering using the topic of Space as my thematic approach. However, I am unsure of what a mid-term plan looks like and if using Space is a useful thematic topic.

Any help would be great.

Many Thanks

2. inq

inq

Which year group are you teaching?
    I presume that Science is the main topic, you could link in art - painting aliens, DT - making rockets/ moon buggies, music - space music, history - history of space travel.
    If you leave an e-mail address I'll forward you one of our MTP for our creative curriculum (sorry I don't have a space one!)

3. I think this topic will be useful to you. It can be linked to a number of other subjects:
    Literacy- writing a newspaper report about the moon landing or a meteorite crash on Earth etc.
    Numeracy- can link to shape, space and measures unit- distances between planets and time taken to orbit sun etc.
    History- research the moon landing.
    Geography- research solar eclipses in various countries on Earth.
    Art- create a model of the solar system using foam balls.
    RE/PSHE - look at how different people view stars and planets in various religions, including horosscopes etc.
    Hope this helps.

4. marlin

marlin Star commenter Forum guide