1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Microteach Family English, Maths and Language interview - Entry 3 to Level 2

Discussion in 'Further Education' started by clairey99, Aug 17, 2017.

1. clairey99

clairey99 New commenter

Hi there,

I have been a primary school class teacher for many years. However, I would like to move over to working with adults. I've got an interview next week for the position of Family Learning Tutor. It's asking me to deliver a microteach. I have to plan a 2 hour lesson but teach a 15 minute section of the planned section. I can teach English or Maths using a 'Day out' as the topic. The interview should be aimed at Entry 3 to Level 2.

I feel rather at a loss where to begin with this. Can anyone help ? I don't know what an Entry 3 to Level 2 would look like with an adult.

Can anyone point me in the direction of good online resources to help me plan a lesson, I really don't know where to start.

2. emsaj79

emsaj79 New commenter

Hi

Do you know what qualifications the students will be working to?

Although it's dated, the Adult Core Curriculum for Literacy and Numeracy is still a good starting point as it breaks down what students should do at each level and gives some example activities. Literacy one here - http://www.excellencegateway.org.uk/content/etf1286 You could also look at the Functional Skills standards to get some ideas. I can't remember if it's OCR or C&G but one or the other has exemplar past papers at these levels (for functional skills) so you can see what a student would need to be able to do to pass at each level.

Hope that helps

Emma

cazzmusic1 likes this.
  3. clairey99

clairey99 New commenter

Hi Emma