1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

MFL teachers - learning a language in 3 months? (SKE Course)

Discussion in 'Modern foreign languages' started by KL_1411, Aug 20, 2018.

1. KL_1411

KL_1411 New commenter

I’m nearing the end of my SKE course in Spanish, which is a condition of me starting my teacher training as a secondary French teacher. I feel I’ve completely neglected my French for 3 months, and my Spanish is still at absolute beginners level

Language teachers who had to pick up another language: how did you do it? Is beginners level enough to be able to teach lower school at least? I had complete confidence in myself until I was told to do this SKE course, but now I have doubts in both my languages…

Any advice or experience welcome ! Thanks in advance.

2. meggyd

meggyd Senior commenter

Sadly you will not be the worst. There is hope because you are aware of what you need to do. I have come across those who think that their level is fine and believe me it was low. You still have a year of training ahead and you will need to keep going. Basically beginners level is not enough but heads will employ an NQT with your skills anyway. Good luck.

agathamorse and Lara mfl 05 like this.
  3. KL_1411

KL_1411 New commenter

That's....somewhat reassuring, thanks! I was fairly confident in my French fluency, as I lived in France for 3 years, but I was hoping to have some time to go over some basics of grammar so I can better explain them to my students. Instead I've been doing this Spanish course, and still I'm on such a basic level. Wish I had the time to get better at both before landing in the classroom....

4. meggyd

meggyd Senior commenter