1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

MFL GCSE orals

Discussion in 'Modern foreign languages' started by anon1061, Dec 1, 2011.

1. I apologise if this has already been done, have spent a good while searching the forum but haven't found an exact response to my concerns.

I am a trainee MFL teacher and adoring every minute, however I have increasingly grave concerns as to the fit of this career to me, the more I learn of our exam system.

With regard to GCSE orals, I am horrified to be told in my formal training that kids need to be given fully corrected passages to memorise and spout off in the oral exam. Moreover, that if they spout it off too quickly, it's game over as if their time is under 4 minutes they are assured a low mark.

I have gone into this career because I adore languages and what I believe they offer kids. However if my job will be to drill kids to pass an exam at the expense of any real understanding or love of the language itself, it and I will simply not get on.

Just hugely interested to hear established MFL teachers' views on this subject. What fulfils you in your job? Do you feel you are turning out linguists, or GCSE manipulators?

My tutor just tells me to suck it up, being able to memorise text is a good skill to have, and I'm not going to change it so I just need to get on with it.

2. spsmith45

spsmith45 New commenter