1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Mentor asking advice from students please

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by minnieminx, Feb 2, 2012.

1. minnieminx

minnieminx New commenter

I am a mentor not a student, but if this was my student I would be contacting the university immediately and expressing deep concerns. Support from the university tutor is a must when things are not going well. You will need to show you have involved them at all points and taken their advice. It is also nice for you to have their support because failing (or even nearly failing) a student is a really horrible thing to have to do.

I think you need to act tomorrow and not keep leaving it. You don't say how long the placement is, but if this is the situation after a few weeks, it isn't likely to get better.
    Sod sensitive, you have probably been 'nice' and 'sensitive' and 'tactful' til you are blue in the face. You need to get a bit tough with them and be blunt about the fact they are going to fail this placement if they don't shape up.

Good luck.

2. sleepyhead

sleepyhead New commenter

If they're turning up to teach without a plan, don't let them in the classroom. That might "encourage" them to do that properly.
    I'd be calling the college in. We have a cause for concern process with the training partner, and I would be invoking that. As far as being the
    , it does sound like you need to be (not that I actually think that this qualifies - it sounds to me like you are doing it right and they are getting it wrong.